Loading article…
Apple has opened no new retail locations in 2026 except for one in Montreal, leaving a year-long gap in its India expansion plans as new iPhone sales begin.
Apple has not announced a single new retail store location for the remainder of 2026, marking a significant slowdown in physical expansion compared to the two stores it opened in India during a two-day span in September 2025 [1]. While the company continues to roll out its latest hardware lineup—including the iPhone 18 Pro and Apple Watch Series 12—the absence of new store announcements leaves the company’s retail footprint in key growth markets like India unchanged from last year [1].
| At a glance | |
|---|---|
| 2026 Store Openings | 1 (Montreal) |
| Last India Openings | September 2025 |
| Daily Siri Requests | 2.5 Billion |
| DOJ Trial Target | 2027 |
The current retail pause coincides with the global launch of Apple’s latest product ecosystem. Pre-orders for the iPhone 18 Pro, which features the new A20 Pro chip built on TSMC’s 2-nanometer process, opened this week across dozens of countries, including India [1, 3]. Despite the new hardware, Apple has focused its India-specific communications on financial incentives rather than physical expansion, offering up to ₹7,000 in instant cashback and six months of no-cost EMI for customers using eligible bank cards [1].
Apple’s global store-news page has remained largely dormant throughout 2026, with only two announcements published all year: a companywide post regarding its 50th anniversary and the launch of the Apple Upgrade financing program [1]. The company’s sole confirmed physical opening this year, the Apple Sainte-Catherine location in Montreal, occurred eight months prior to the current product launch cycle [1].
While retail expansion remains quiet, Apple faces significant legal and regulatory challenges that could impact its long-term operations. In the United States, the Department of Justice’s civil monopolization suit is currently in the discovery phase, with a trial date not yet set but trending toward 2027 [2]. Meanwhile, in the United Kingdom, the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) has designated Apple a firm with "Strategic Market Status," forcing the company to comply with new requirements regarding app distribution and mobile browsers [2].
These regulatory hurdles run parallel to Apple’s push into artificial intelligence. The company is positioning its hardware—specifically the A20 Pro chip—as the primary engine for its new "Siri AI" assistant [3]. Unlike competitors such as Meta, which require users to manually connect apps to their AI agents, Apple claims its advantage lies in the deep integration of Siri within its own operating system, allowing the assistant to interact with native apps like Health, Photos, and Messages without additional authorization steps [3].
Whether Apple’s current retail strategy is a temporary pause or a shift toward prioritizing digital-first sales remains unclear, as the company has provided no guidance on future store openings. The effectiveness of its AI-integrated hardware, rather than the number of physical storefronts, appears to be the primary metric for the company's performance in the current cycle [3].
Coverage is mostly measured — 298 of 300 reports stay neutral.
Every Monday — the token unlocks, Fed dates & catalysts set to move crypto and markets this week. So you’re never blindsided.
Free · 3-min read · one-click unsubscribe
AI-assisted synthesis by the TrendWatcher Editorial Desk · sourced from 3 outlets · Sep 13, 2026 · How we report
Apple has scheduled the release of iOS 27 for September 14, 2026. As of September 13, 2026, Apple has not provided a specific time of day, time zone, or country-specific rollout order for the update.
Apple does not disclose a standalone monthly price for Apple News+ or its specific value within the Apple One bundles. Apple only provides the total monthly costs for Apple One tiers, which are $21.95, $27.95, and $39.95 as of September 8, 2026.
Apple does not publish a standalone monthly price for Apple TV. Apple only offers access to Apple TV through the Apple One subscription bundles, which were priced at $21.95, $27.95, and $39.95 as of September 8, 2026.
Apple has not confirmed the specific member count for an Apple One Family plan. While iCloud+ supports up to five other members, Apple has not stated if the Apple One Family plan adheres to the same limit.