Loading article…
Apple mandates all new App Store submissions use the iOS 27, iPadOS 27, tvOS 27, visionOS 27, or watchOS 27 SDK starting April 2027 to ensure compatibility.
Apple has set an April 2027 deadline for all new App Store submissions to be built using the iOS 27, iPadOS 27, tvOS 27, visionOS 27, or watchOS 27 software development kits (SDKs) [2]. This requirement forces developers to align their software with the latest platform features, including the newly integrated Siri AI and Apple Intelligence capabilities, ahead of the broader transition to next-generation hardware [1, 2].
| At a glance | |
|---|---|
| Deadline | April 2027 |
| New SDKs | iOS 27, iPadOS 27, tvOS 27, visionOS 27, watchOS 27 |
| Launch Date | September 14, 2026 |
| macOS 27 Requirement | Apple silicon only |
The mandate arrives as Apple prepares for the official rollout of its 2027 operating systems on September 14, 2026 [2]. By requiring the latest SDKs for all new uploads to App Store Connect by April 2027, Apple ensures that applications leverage the performance improvements and design updates introduced in the current cycle, such as the Liquid Glass interface and system-wide Siri AI integration [1, 2].
Beyond the SDK requirement, Apple is accelerating its transition away from legacy hardware. The company confirmed that macOS 27 will exclusively support Apple silicon, ending support for Intel-based Macs that was maintained through macOS 26 [2]. Developers are now required to set their Xcode build architecture to "arm64 only" to submit apps for the latest macOS release, a move designed to simplify development and optimize software performance for Apple’s proprietary chips [2].
The 2027 software suite, first unveiled at WWDC 2026, centers on the deployment of Siri AI and Apple Intelligence [1]. These tools allow for advanced tasks such as cross-app data processing, screen-aware assistance, and generative text capabilities [1]. For developers, this shift necessitates updates to app listings and metadata, including new age-rating questions for features like "Time Allowances" and updated design assets for product pages [2].
The release candidates for these systems are currently available for testing, with the final versions scheduled to ship on new hardware, including the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, starting September 18, 2026 [1]. While the transition to the new SDKs is mandatory for new submissions by April 2027, the immediate focus for developers is ensuring compatibility with the September 14 public launch [2].
The April 2027 deadline serves as a firm cutoff for developers to modernize their codebases, effectively phasing out older development standards. Whether this timeline will result in a significant drop-off in support for older, non-updated applications remains the primary question for the App Store ecosystem.
Coverage is mostly measured — 298 of 300 reports stay neutral.
Every Monday — the token unlocks, Fed dates & catalysts set to move crypto and markets this week. So you’re never blindsided.
Free · 3-min read · one-click unsubscribe
AI-assisted synthesis by the TrendWatcher Editorial Desk · sourced from 3 outlets · Sep 13, 2026 · How we report
Apple has scheduled the release of iOS 27 for September 14, 2026. As of September 13, 2026, Apple has not provided a specific time of day, time zone, or country-specific rollout order for the update.
Apple does not disclose a standalone monthly price for Apple News+ or its specific value within the Apple One bundles. Apple only provides the total monthly costs for Apple One tiers, which are $21.95, $27.95, and $39.95 as of September 8, 2026.
Apple does not publish a standalone monthly price for Apple TV. Apple only offers access to Apple TV through the Apple One subscription bundles, which were priced at $21.95, $27.95, and $39.95 as of September 8, 2026.
Apple has not confirmed the specific member count for an Apple One Family plan. While iCloud+ supports up to five other members, Apple has not stated if the Apple One Family plan adheres to the same limit.