Loading article…
Apple Upgrade lets US customers lease iPhone 17 Pro for $45.99 a month, a new option that replaces the old Upgrade Program and could reshape device financing.
Apple today unveiled Apple Upgrade, a leasing service that lets U.S. customers take an iPhone 17 Pro (256 GB) for $45.99 a month on a 12‑month term, replacing the long‑running iPhone Upgrade Program [1]. The move targets consumers who prefer predictable monthly costs over outright purchase, while giving Apple a recurring‑revenue stream tied to its hardware lineup.
| At a glance | |
|---|---|
| Program | Apple Upgrade leasing launch |
| Device | iPhone 17 Pro 256 GB |
| Monthly price | $45.99 (12 mo) / $31.99 (24 mo) |
| Lease length | 12 or 24 months for phones; up to 36 months for Macs/iPads |
Apple partners with Klarna to handle all billing and credit checks, requiring only a soft pull that does not affect credit scores [1]. Lease terms vary by product: phones and watches are offered for 12 or 24 months, while iPads and Macs can stretch to 36 months. No security deposit is needed, but customers cannot make a down payment to lower the monthly rate; the only way to reduce cost is via an Apple trade‑in [1]. Early upgrades are permitted, but the fee scales with the remaining balance, turning a premature swap into a calculated expense rather than a simple exchange [1].
For the 12‑month iPhone 17 Pro lease, total payments equal $551.88, roughly 50 % of the device’s $1,099 upfront price [2]. If a buyer resells the phone after a year for about $650—a typical private‑sale price for a recent iPhone—the net cost would be $450, lower than the lease total [2]. Conversely, the lease guarantees the device for a year without resale risk, appealing to users who value convenience over potential savings [2]. The program also offers a buy‑out option at lease end: the remaining balance equals the original retail price minus payments already made, effectively turning the lease into interest‑free financing [2].
Apple’s shift from ownership‑based financing to a pure leasing model aligns with broader trends in consumer electronics, where subscription‑style access is gaining traction. By handing billing to Klarna, Apple offloads credit‑risk management while keeping the hardware ecosystem locked to its devices and carrier partners (AT&T, T‑Mobile, Verizon) [1]. Competitors such as Samsung and Google have experimented with device‑as‑a‑service offerings, but Apple’s extensive device catalog and brand loyalty give it a unique advantage in scaling the model.
Apple Upgrade introduces a leasing option that could reshape how consumers acquire premium Apple hardware, turning a traditionally ownership‑centric market into a recurring‑revenue model while testing the appetite for subscription‑style device access.
Coverage is mostly measured — 298 of 300 reports stay neutral.
Every Monday — the token unlocks, Fed dates & catalysts set to move crypto and markets this week. So you’re never blindsided.
Free · 3-min read · one-click unsubscribe
AI-assisted synthesis by the TrendWatcher Editorial Desk · sourced from 3 outlets · Jul 30, 2026 · How we report
Apple has scheduled the release of iOS 27 for September 14, 2026. As of September 13, 2026, Apple has not provided a specific time of day, time zone, or country-specific rollout order for the update.
Apple does not disclose a standalone monthly price for Apple News+ or its specific value within the Apple One bundles. Apple only provides the total monthly costs for Apple One tiers, which are $21.95, $27.95, and $39.95 as of September 8, 2026.
Apple does not publish a standalone monthly price for Apple TV. Apple only offers access to Apple TV through the Apple One subscription bundles, which were priced at $21.95, $27.95, and $39.95 as of September 8, 2026.
Apple has not confirmed the specific member count for an Apple One Family plan. While iCloud+ supports up to five other members, Apple has not stated if the Apple One Family plan adheres to the same limit.